News

Facebook Finally Launches Tool for Removing Third-Party ‘Vampire Apps’ in Bulk

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Facing additional pressure after the latest data scandal involving Cambridge Analytica, which sent users flocking to their privacy settings, Facebook has finally launched a tool that allows users to disconnect third-party “vampire apps” en masse, preventing the applications from accessing their data. The feature is one of a series changes the company hopes will mitigate damage from the recent scandal.

Prior to the new tools release, users could disconnect third-party “vampire apps” one at a time, a process that could be incredibly cumbersome depending on how many the user wishes to remove.

Now, the process is streamlined, allowing Facebook users to disconnect multiple apps simultaneously.

To access the bulk removal feature, log into your Facebook account and head to the Apps section in the Setting menu.

There, you’ll see which apps are “Logged in with Facebook.”

If you want to review what information is being gathered by the app, you can tap or click the “edit settings” icon for more details. If you decide that you want to remove the app, tap or click the checkbox located to the righthand side of the app to select it.

You can select as many as you want at a single time. Then, tap or click the Remove button to disconnect all of the apps at the same time.

After you tap or click Remove, you’ll see a dialog box asking you to confirm the removal along with an additional checkbox that gives you the option to “delete all posts, photos and videos on Facebook these apps and websites may have published on your behalf.”

Once you tap or click Remove again, you may see a confirmation window that may state that the apps “can no longer request info about you on Facebook.” However, it adds, that the apps “may have info you previously shared,” and a link to the app’s privacy policy in case you want to contact them.

In some cases, you may be told that Facebook is “removing these apps and websites from your account. The time it takes to complete this depends on how many you’ve removed,” according to a report by the Daily Mail.

The process can also be completed through the Facebook smartphone app, so you don’t have to log in on a computer to remove connections to third-party apps in bulk.